The Energy Journal Campbell Watkins Best Paper Award

In 1989, the IAEE’s Energy Economics Education Foundation instituted a "Best Paper" award for the paper designated as the most outstanding of the papers published in The Energy Journal the previous year. In 2005, the "Best Paper" award was renamed to "The Campbell Watkins Energy Journal Best Paper" award in recognition of Campbell Watkins' long standing support to the Association and its publications.


Dakshina G. De Silva and Anita R. Schiller, Lancaster University and Robert P. McComb, Texas Tech University


Dorothee Charlier, IAE Savoie Mont-Blanc – IREGE and Sondes Kahouli, Université de Bretagne Occidentale

2018 Elbert Dijkgraaf, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Tom P. van Dorp, Solarplaza International BV, and Emiel Maasland, Erasmus University Rotterdam

2017 David P. Brown, University of Alberta and David E.M. Sappington, University of Florida

2016 Thomas-Olivier Leautier, Toulouse School of Economcis

2015 Peter R. Hartley, Rice University

2014 Christoph Boehringer and Jan Schneider, University of Oldenburg & Knut Einar Rosendahl, Norwegian University of Life Science

2013 Georg Gebhardt, University of Ulm and Felix Hoffler, University of Cologne

2012 Richard Green, Imperial College London and Nicholas Vasilakos, University of East Anglia

2011 Stratford Douglas, West Virginia University and Julia Popova, New York Independent System Operators

2010 Ramteen Sioshansi, Ohio State University and Paul Denholm, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

2009 Gregory F. Nemet, University of Wisconsin and Erin Baker, University of Massachusetts

2008 Stephen P. A. Brown and Mine K. Yucel, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

2007 A. Denny Ellerman, MIT and Juan-Pablo Montero, Universidad Catolica de Chile

2006 Roger Fouquet, University of the South Pacific and Peter J.G. Pearson, Imperial College London

2005 Christian von Hirschhausen, Dresden University of Technoogy, Berit Meinhart, Berlin University of Technology, and Ferdinand Pavel, DIW Berlin

2004 David W. Loughran and Jonathan Kulick, RAND

2003 Onno Kuik and Reyer Gerlagh, Institute for Environmental Studies

2002 Dermot Gately, New York University and Hillard G. Huntington, Stanford University

2001 Kenneth B. Medlock III, El Paso Merchant and Ronald Soligo, Rice University

2000 Andrew A. Goett and Kathleen Hudson, AAG Associates and Kenneth E. Train, University of California,  Berkeley

1999 David L. Greene, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, James R. Kahn and  Robert C. Gibson, University of Tennessee
1998 Stuart Mc Menamin and Frank Monforte, Regional Economic Research, Inc.
1997  William Hogan, Harvard University and Richard Eckaus, A. Denny Ellerman, Henry Jacoby, Ronald Prinn, David Reiner and Zili Yang, MIT
1996 Caroline L. Freund, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System and  Christine Wallich.
1994 Richard F. Kosobud, University of Illinois at Chicago, Thomas Daly and David W. South, Argonne National Laboratory and Kevin G. Quinn, St. Norbert College, DePere, Wisconsin; and Rolf Golombek and Jan Bråten, Foundation for Research in Economics  and Business   Administration, Oslo, Norway.

1995 James L. Smith, Southern Methodist University
1993 Snorre Kverndokk, Statistics Norway
1992 Paul Joskow and Donald Marron, MIT
1991 Cutler Cleveland and Robert Kaufman, Boston University
1990 Harry R. Clarke, LaTrobe University, Australia and Ram M. Shrestha,  Asian Institute of  Technology, Thailand
1989 Peter Navarro, University of California, Irvine

© 2021 International Association for Energy Economics | Privacy Policy | Return Policy