## IAEE - APEEN Student and Young Researchers Prizes-2019

The Portuguese Association for Energy Economics – APEEN – with the support of the International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) gave three prizes last year: the Young Researcher Award, and two IAEE Student awards, given to the best paper presented in two APEEN scientific events.

APEEN gave the Young Researcher Award at the 4th Annual APEEN Conference - Energy Demand-Side Management and Electricity Markets, that took place in the University of Beira Interior, Covilhã, Portugal, on 17th and 18th October, 2019. This prize has the objective of rewarding scientifically relevant work in Energy Economics by young researchers, and promoting the growth and renewal of this scientific area in Portugal. The Young Researcher award has a monetary value of 1000€ and the candidates have to send an article published in a scientific journal, be at least 35 years old, and be an APEEN member. This year the winner was Tiago Oliveira, with his paper Wind power and CO<sub>2</sub> emissions in the Irish market, co-authored with Celeste Varum and Anabela Botelho and published in the journal, Energy Economics.

Additionally, two prizes were promoted and offered by IAEE, in an effort to encourage more students to join the Association, and to provide research in the Energy Economics area. A prize of \$300 was given to the best article/presentation at the 6th International Meeting on Environmental and Energy Economics (ME3), on 29th May (University of Aveiro, Portugal), to **Diogo Santos Pereira**, for his paper, *An econometric approach to assess and design policies and measures for electricity Demand-Side Management: France as a case study*, coauthored with António Cardoso Marques.

The second IAEE Student prize, of \$350, was given to the best article/presentation at the 4th Annual APEEN Conference 2019. The winning student was **Santtu Karhinen**, for his article/presentation entitled *Emissions reduction by dynamic optimization of distributed energy storage under aggregator's control*, co-authored with Hannu Huuki and Enni Ruokamo.

IAEE and APEEN also guaranteed the membership dues of \$50.00 for each of the two Student IAEE winners to APEEN/IAEE for one year.



IAEE Student Prize – ME3: Diogo Pereira



IAEE Student Prize – Annual APEEN Conference: Santtu Karhinen

